free web hosting | free hosting | Business Hosting | Free Website Submission | shopping cart | php hosting

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

THOMAS MUNSON AND HIS DESCENDANTS

 

<HOMEPAGE

INTRODUCTORY.

Our labor upon the American history of the Munsons has been so engrossing as to preclude effectual inquiry into their transatlantic connection and history.

The English Monsons belonging to the peerage have a recognized history extending through five centuries: According to Burke's Peerage and Baronetage of the British Empire* John Monson was "living in 1378, \temp. Richard II, Chaucer and Wycliffe,] and denominated of East or Market-Rasen, со. Lincoln ; from him lineally sprang William Monson, Esq.," who died in 1558, the year in which Queen Elizabeth came to the throne. We present William's posterity in the line of high titles :

William1, Esq., d. 1558 ; was of So. Carlton, Lincolnshire.

John1, of So. Carlton.

Robert2, bro. of John", d. 24 Sept. 1583. Began study at Cambridge Jan. 1545-6. In parliament, he "distinguished himself by boldness of speech, particularly in the autumn of 1566, when he offended the queen by the persistence with which he pressed for a direct answer to a petition of both houses praying her to marry and nominate her successor in the event of her death without issue." He is said by Burke to have been an eminent lawyer and one of the judges of- the Common Pleas, temp. Elizabeth. He was buried in Lincoln Cathedral. His epitaph, quoted in The Judges of England, is curious and interesting :

 

Quern tegit hoc marmor si forte requiris, Amice,

Lunam cum Phcebo jungite, nomen habes.
Luce Patrum clarus, proprio sed lumine major ;

De gemina mrito nomina luce capit.
Largus, doctus, amans, aluit, coluit, recreavit

Musas, jus, vinctos, sumptibus, arte, domo.
Tempora Iscta Deus, post tmpora nubila misit ;

Laeta dedit senete, nubila ferr pie,
Et tulit, vicit ; superat sua lumina virtus ;

Fulget apud superos, stella beata facit.

Sir John', Knt., manor at So. Carlton, d. in 1593.

Sir Thomas', Knt., 1564-1641. He was at Oxford, but left without a degree. He was created M.A. 30 Aug. 1605, when he accompanied James I on a visit to Oxford. He was knighted the year of the Armada (1588). He became a favorite of James I, who made him his master-falconer early in his reign, "such a falconer," says Weldon, "as no prince in Christendom ever had." In June 1611, he was appointed master of the armory at the Tower. June 29, 1611, he was created First Baronet*

 

* The information in this sketch is derived mainly from Burke, from Cokayne's Complete Peerage, and from the Dictionary of National Biography, Vol. xxxviii.

Sir William', Knt., 1569-1643, bro. of Sir Thomas. He was of So. Garitn, "where his family had been settled for many generations." He was in Oxford at 14, but off to sea at 16, without the knowledge of his parents. In 1588 he was lieutenant of the Charles, one of the fleet which opposed the Armada. In 1594 he took the degree of M.A. at Oxford. He was viceadmiral in 1602. In July 1604 he was appointed admiral of the narrow seas, a position which he occupied twelve years. His distinguished naval career, 1588-1635, imparted lustre to the reigns of Elizabeth, James I, and Charles I. He was knighted. He retired to his seat at Kinnersley in Surrey where he occupied himself with preparing his famous Naval Tracts.

Sir John', 1600-1683, K.B., M.P. for со. Lincoln, m. Ursula dau. of Sir Robert Oxenbridge, was Second Baronet.

He drained the low-lying lands along the river Ancholme in Lincolnshire, and was rewarded with 5827 acres of the reclaimed region. His legal acumen had been noticed by the King, and he offered Charles much useful advice during his disagreements with the parliament (1640-42). He was not a University man, but was made D.C.L. by Oxford in 1642. His estate was sequestered by the Commonwealth in 1648, but the sequestration was removed in 1651, and in Dec. 1652 he signed the engagement to the Commonwealth. He built and endowed a free school in South Garitn, and a hospital in Burton.

Sir William', bro. of the preceding, d. 1672 une. Charles I raised him to the peerage of Ireland as Viscount Mounsonj of Castlemaine, со. Kerry, in Aug. 1628, and he was knighted in Aug. 1633. Though concerned as late as 1646 on behalf of the King at Oxford, soon after in the House of Commons he took the side of the rebels; he was a "committee man" for the county of Surrey ; he was nominated one of the King's judges, and attended on the 20, 22 and 23 Jan. 1649, though he did not sign the death-warrant.

The Long Parliament, in May 1659, was obliged, in order to form a quorum, to send for Mounson from the Fleet prison, where he was confined for debt. At the Restoration, he was excepted out of the bill of pardon as to pains and penalties, and upon surrendering himself on 2i June 1660 was recommitted to the Fleet. July i, 1661 he was degraded of all his honours and titles, and deprived of his property. He was also sentenced to be drawn from the Tower through the city of London to Tyburn, and so back again, with a halter about his neck, and to be imprisoned for life. In petitioning the House of Lords on 25 July 1661 to remit what was most ignominious in his sentence, Mounson declared that his design in sitting at the King's trial was, if possible, to prevent "that horrid murder." The ignominious part of the sentence was duly carried out each year on the anniversary of the King's sentence. Pepys, in his Diary, under date of Monday, 27 Jan. 1661-2, wrote : "This morning . . . called on several ships, to give orders. Going to take water upon Tower-hill, we met with three sleddes standing there to carry my Lord Mounson and Sir H. Mildmay and another, to the gallows and back again, with ropes about their necks."

* This honor was hereditary, while that of knight was personal. Both baronets and knights were entitled Sir. The baronets ranked next below the peers.

t That Mounson was the recognized orthography at that period, is apparent from the title of a contemporary publication, to wit: "The Traytor's Pilgrimage from the Tower to Tyburn, being a true relation of the drawing of William Lord Mounson, Sir Henry Mildmay," etc.

Viscount Castlemaine had the same arms and crest as those which have been used by the line of Monson barons. His widow was restored to her title of Viscountess of Castlemaine. [John", d. 1674 ; son of the 2nd baronet and father of the 3d

and 4th baronets.]

Sir Henry7, d. 6 April 1718, was Third Baronet.

Sir William', d. 1727, was Fourth Baronet.

[George7, brother of 3d and 4th baronets and father of the fifth.] Sir John", b. about 1693, d. 18 July 1748, was Fifth Baronet.

In the first year of George II, 28 May 1728, he was elevated to the peerage as First Baron.*

Lord Monson was appointed, in June 1737, first commissioner of trade and plantations. The town of Monson, Mass., incorporated in 1760, was named in his honor.f He was made a privy councellor 31 July 1737.

Henry", bro. of the first baron, d. in 1757 ; he was a graduate of Oxford, regius professor of civil law, and LL.D.

John", b. 23 July 1727, d. 23 July 1774, was Second Baron.

He was made LL.D. of Cambridge in 1749. He was offered an earldom on a condition which he declined.

Lewis', bro. of the second baron Monson, was created Baron Sondes, со. Kent, 1760 ; his latest successor was advanced to an earldom 4 May 1880. Sondes has not the Monson Arms. (Motto Esto quo esse videris.)

George9, bro. of the two preceding, was an Indian officer, an opponent of Warren Hastings, and Lieut.General 1775 or '76.

John10, b. 25 May 1753, d. 20 May 1806, was Third Baron.

William10, Col., 1760-1807, bro. of the preceding, was an Indian officer, and was M.P. for Lincoln ; was father of the sixth baron.

* Above the barons, in order, are viscount, earls, marquises and dukes. t Probably.

John-George", b. i ;. 1785, d. 14 Nov. 1809, Fourth Baron.

Graduate of Oxford. Frederick-John", b. 3 Feb. 1809, d. 7 Oct. 1841, Fifth Baron.

Graduate of Oxford, and D.C.L. William-John", son of Col. William and grandson of the second baron, b. 14 May 1796, d. 17 Dec. 1862, Sixth Baron.

Graduate of Oxford. William-John'3, b. 18 Feb. 1829, was Seventh Baron.

Graduate of Oxford, Treasurer of the Royal Household 1874, Capt. of the Yeomen of the Guard (St. James Palace) 1880-1885, one of the Speakers of the House of Lords 1882, created Viscount OxEnbridge of Burton 13 Aug. 1886, Master of the Horse to the Queen 1892 ; he retains the Monson Arms. (Motto Prest pour mon pays.) The family estates in 1883 comprised 8,100 acres in Lincolnshire, and 2,034 in co. Surrey ; gross annual value, .7,247. Seat, Burton Hall (near Lincoln), co. Lincoln. (Town Residence, 29 Belgrave Square, S. W., London.)

Sir Edmund-John", bro. of the preceding, b. 6 Oct. 1834, graduate of Oxford, minister to Uruguay 1879-84, Envoy Extraordinary and Minister Plenipotentiary to the Argentine Republic, etc., 1884, 5, at Copenhagen 1885-8, and at Athens 1888.

We have outlined the successive generations of this illustrious English family because of the rational presumption that our pioneer-ancestor, Capt. Thomas, sprang from it. His generation would have been that of the second baronet, the son of Sir Thomas'.

Dating at the British Legation, Copenhagen, 10 March 1888, Sir Edmund Monson wrote: "To your Trans-Atlantic relatives in the Old World, the multiplication of the posterity of your famous ancestor is a very curious circumstance, when we look around us and see how the English branch of the family is limited to very few members indeed." This distinguished gentleman had written under date of 24 July 1886: "When I was appointed Attache to the British Legation at Washington in 1858, my Father, Lord Monson, . . . was very anxious to know the subsequent career of that branch of the Monsons which had emigrated to America in the Seventeenth Century."

Lord Monson, writing from Burton Hall, Lincoln, 10 July 1886, said : " My Father passed a great portion of his life in genealogical researches and has bequeathed

to me most valuable M.S.S. onour family history. It was amatter of great disappointmentto him that he was never able to collect information respecting the Monsons or Munsons of the United States or connect that branch upon any authentic data with his Lordship's Ancestors in the Mother Country."As his Lordship expresses his" best wishes for the welfare of my Transatlantic Cousins," so the Honorable Sir Edmund extends his congratulations to " all my American Cousins of the Clan Munson " on the brilliant success of their Reunion in 1887.*The latter writer expresses the opinion that our common ancestor was a Dane. That portion of England where the Family was dwelling at the date of our earliest knowledge, in the fourteenth century, he reminds us, had been overrun by the Danes. " Many names of families and places in that locality are clearly Danish. The name of Monsen is very common to this day in Denmark."

Writing from Massachusetts Bay in September, 1629, Higginson said: " Many families are expected here the next spring out of Lincolnshire.''! The principal town of the county of Lincoln was Boston. According to the Memorial History of Boston, Mass., " When the Boston [Eng.] men joined the Massachusetts Company, . . their superior wealth and standing gave them the ascendancy in its councils," and thus a name precious with Lincolnshire associations was applied to the Tri-Mountain settlement.

* Five hundred members of the family convened in New Haven Oct. and, listened to addresses, etc., in the First Church, dined together in Lincoln Rink, enjoyed toasts and afterdinner speeches, with music, and spent the evening in social festivity. (See pamphlet of *' Proceedings.")

t Mr. Samuel Whiting, a native of Lincolnshire who had also " exercised his ministry" in that county, reached this hemisphere in May 1636. " When he came ashore," says Mather, " his friends at the New-English Boston, with many of whom he had : 1_ .1.1

let him know how glad they were to see him.

: had been acquainted in Lincoln-shire,

Increase Mather (1639-1723), President of Harvard College, wrote of the Rev. John Cotton, who for twenty years was minister in Boston, England, and for nineteen years minister in Boston, Massachusetts : " Both Bostons have reason to honor his memory ; and New-England Boston most of all, which oweth its name and being to him, more than to any one person in the world." In the same ship with Cotton came Hooker, celebrated as a minister and as the founder of Hartford ; and through Cotton's influence (in England), Davenport, celebrated as a minister and as associatefounder of New Haven,* became a non-conformist, and so an exile to the New World. But we need not press the item of locality, though it have significance; for Cotton Mather (16631728) wrote: "The ministers and Christians by whom New-England was first planted, were . . . picked out of, perhaps, all the counties of England, and this by no human contrivance, but by a strange work of God upon the spirits of men that were, no ways, acquainted with one another, inspiring them, as one man, to secede into a wilderness."

"It was for a matter of twelve years together, that persons of all ranks, well-affected unto church-reformation, kept sometimes dropping, and sometimes flocking," says the M aguaita, "into New-England, though some that were coming into New-England were not suffered to do so." Among those who were restrained were Oliver Cromwell and John Hampden !f "However," says Mather, " the number of those who did actually arrive at NewEngland before the year 1640, have been computed about 4000 ; since which time " he was writing about half a century afterward " far more have gone out of the country than have come into it."

The silenced, non-conformist ministers were at the head of this sublime migration. They had been "deprived not only of their livings, but also of their liberty to exercise their ministry, which was dearer to them than their livings." When the Bay-Colony was forty years old, it was computed that ninety-four ministers had come thither from England, chiefly in the first ten years : " thirty-one were then alive ; thirty-six had retired unto heaven ; twenty-seven had returned back to Europe." " Most, if not all, of the ministers who then visited these regions, were either attended or followed, with a number of pious people, who had lived within the reach of their ministry in England. These were now also become generally non-conformists."

*"There were then two famous churches gathered at New-Haven: gathered in two days, one following upon the other ; Mr. Davenport's and Mr. Prudden's: and this with one singular circumstance, that a mighty barn was the place wherein that solemnity was attended." Thus the Magnalia. The New Haven and Milford churches were organized Aug. 21 and 22, 1639. In that barn, on the 4th of June previously, the "Fundamental Agreement" of the colony was enacted. Now this " mighty barn" stood on Elder Robert Newman's home-lot, and Newman's place became Thomas Munson's residence in 1662. t March 30, 1638.

Does one inquire for a definite answer to the question What banished scores of the ablest, most devoted, most spiritual ministers, with 4,000 of their fellow-Christians, into a wilderness peopled with savages? Hear then the answer: A conscientious refusal to practice certain ceremonies of human invention which had been added to the worship of God unscriptural, unwarrantable, profane, as they believed ; they could not conform to the requirements of the bishops and their courts in respect to these human inventions. That the silenced ministers might preach the Gospel, and that they and their fellow-Christians might have liberty to worship according to conscience, and that they might propagate Christianity among the aborigines, such were their primary motives in crossing the Atlantic.

Our Thomas Munson the supposition is credible and unavoidable was among those Four Thousand exiled servants of God. He may have voyaged hither with Higginson in 1629, with Cotton and Hooker in 1633, or with other brave and spirited colonists, loyal to God and to conscience. Whence he came, when he came, with whom he came, may some day appear.

We may justly feel interested in the story of Constantine, Columbus, Luther, Shakspere, Cromwell, Lincoln ; but there are tens of thousands who have occasion to feel a livelier interest in the story of Thomas Munson ; for without him they had not been. Add that he was a man of signal ability and high worth, that he lived in a stirring, formative period, and that his career was eventful, beneficent, distinguished, and we may appreciate how conspicuous in our esteem should be the portraiture of our Pioneer's life.

О God, beneath thy guiding hand,

Our exiled fathers crossed the sea;

And when they trod the wintry strand,

With prayer and psalm they worshipped thee.

Thou heard'st, well-pleased, the song, the prayer ;
Thy blessing came ; and still its power
Shall onward through all ages bear
The memory of that holy hour.

Laws, freedom, truth, and faith in God
Came with those exiles o'er the waves ;
And where their pilgrim feet have trod,
The God they trusted guards their graves.

Hymn written by Leonard Bacon for the two-hundredth anniversary of the settlement of
New Haven, celebrated April 25, 1838.

 

THOMAS MUNSON AND HIS DESCENDANTS

i.

Thomas1 b. abt. 1612 ; m. Joanna* app'y, b. abt. 1610 ; she d. 13 Dec. 1678, . 68 ; he d. 7 May 1685, . 73. Carpenter, civic office, military service ; Cong.; res. Hartford, New Haven, Ct.

Children :

2. i. Elisabeth'.

3. ii. Samuel' bp. 7 Aug. 1643 : " Samuel Munson ye Sonn of Thomas

Munson was Baptised y" 7th 6mo 43." Record of First Church,
New Haven.

4. iii. Hannah' (5/. n June 1648: "Hannah Munson II. 4m- 48." Rec.

First Ch.

Annals of Thomas1, the Originator.

1637. (Aged 25.) Thomas first be

comes known to us as a resident of

Hartford who performed

Pequot War. .,., . iT_

military service m the Pequot War. Forty-two of the ninety men composing Mason's renowned army were of Hartford. At daybreak on the 5th of June occurred the historic battle, eight miles northeast of New London.

* In Hotten's Lists of Emigrants, page 279, appear " the names and ages of all the Passengers which tooke shipping In the Elizabeth of Ipswich, M1' Willia Andrews, bound for new Eng Land the last of Aprill 1634 ;" one of them is " Susan Munson, aged 25." This Susan, three years older than Thomas', may have been his wife. Hannah Munson Tuttle named her second daughter Susannah. It is impossible to doubt that Joanna Munson, who was two years older than Thomas', who died seven years before him, and whose gravestone is a twin to that of Thomas, was his wife, though possibly by a second marriage. Hannah Munson Tuttle named her first daughter Joanna, a name which is somewhat rare. At the seating of the meeting-house, in 1647, " Sister Munson " was located in the " 2d seat " on the side (as distinguished from " the middle "); in 1656, " Goodw. Munson" and four others were " Permitted to sit in the alley (upon their desire) for convenience of hearing," a little deaf, it would seem ; and in 1662, " Sister Munson " and four others were assigned a place " Before Mrs. Goodyears seat " in front of the pulpit.

I should not be surprised to learn that Munson was related by marriage or otherwise to Samuel Whitehead. They two were the only Hartford settlers who removed to New Haven ; in 1647 they occupied the same seat in the meeting-house, and their wives sat side by side ; in 1656, the two men were seated side by side ; and Thomas named his only son Samuel. Munson and Whitehead were withal the first and second sergeants of the force raised in 1653 to aid a war which had been declared against New Netherlands (Dutch). Munson lived in George St., and Whitehead at the corner of George and Meadow.

t May ist, 1637, the Gen'all Corte att Harteford " ordered that there shalbe an offensiue warr ag1 the Pequoitt, and that there shalbe 90 men levied out of the 3 PlantaCons, Harteford, Weathersfeild & Windsor ;" Harteford was to furnish 42. Wednesday, May 10 th, the Connecticut army, composed of 90 Colonists and 70 Mohegan Indians, sailed from Hartford, and occupied five days in descending the Connecticut River, sixty miles. Only two members of the expedition were killed, and sixteen wounded ; while according to Capt. Mason six or seven hundred of the Pequota perished. Sassacus was sachem of the Pequots ; Uncas was leader of the Mohegans. (Consult Palfrey's Hist. N. Eng., I. 462-470, where is a list of original authorities.)

 

" Harteford. Generall Cort, Tuesday Nov: i4th, 1637. . . It is ordered that every common souldier that went in the late designe against or enemies the Pequoites shall have is. $J. pr day for theire service at sixe dayes to the weeke ; ... and that the saide payment shalbe for a moneth although in strictnes there was but three weekes and 3 dayes due. ... It is ordered that the pay in the second designe [the pursuit of the fugitives to Fairfield swamp] shalbe the same with the former, and the tyme a month." On the northern margin of the present city of Hartford was a

cleared and fertile tract of 28 acres, which the grateful town

allotted to the returning heroes ; it has been known

Soldiers' Field. .

as the Soldiers Field. In a paper on ' The Soldiers' Field and Its Original Proprietors," which was read before the Conn. Historical Society, and printed in the Courant of June 18, 1887, F. H. Parker stated that eight acres of this Field early became the property of Zachariah Field; his tract "contained thirteen allotments, the most southern of which was that of Thomas Hale, adjoining the Spencer lot ; then came in order the lots of Samuel Hale, William Phillips, Thomas Barnes, and Thomas Munson." It is Lawyer Parker's judgment that the grant of one hundred acres,* which was confirmed by the General Court unto Lnt Munson 13 May 1673, was in recognition of his service as a Pequot soldier. This view is doubtless correct.

Soldier Munson's house-lot, comprising two and one-half acres,

was on the east side of the present High Street, opposite the head

of Walnut : \ our High Street was then known as "the

highway leading from the Солу-pasture to Mr Allen's

land." There was a house on this ground in February, 1641,

which was probably built by Munson the Carpenter. Previously

to this date, he had sold the place to Nath. Kellogge. Note

this record :

" Febr : Anno dom : 1640

Severall parcells of Land in Hertford upon the River of Conecticott belonging to Nath : Kellogge & to his heires forever ~ ~ viz : one parcell on which his dwellingge now standeth Contayning by estimation two acres & two roods (more or lesse) wch he bought of Thomas Munson Abutting upon the Cow pasture on the North & on Thomas Hales land on the South & on Willm Phillups land on the East & on the highway leading from the Cowpasture to Mr Aliens land on the west."|

* Assembly, May 1723." Upon the motion of Capt. Joseph Whiting of New Haven as attoumey to the heirs of Franciss Girdler of Marblehead, deceas'd, shewing lo this Assembly that a grant of a hundred acres of land granted to Ll Thomas Munson, May 8 [May 13], 1673 and ordered to be laid out by Mr. John Moss and Mr. Bracket!, and afterwards, viz. Feb'ry 26, 1686/7, by Samuel Munson, only son and heir of Thomas Munson aforesaid, sold to said Franciss Girdley, and said in said deed to lye at or near Caughinchaug Swamp, is, notwithstanding lost, by reason the return of said Moss & Brackett laying out the same cannot be found, and praying this Assembly that said hundred acres may now be laid out in some of the ungranted lands in this Colony ; This Assembly do accordingly give liberty that said land may be, by some county surveyour, laid out to said heirs in the ungranted lands as aforesaid."

Quite likely the original grant was made in May (or Oct.) 1671 ; it " slipt the recording," and was renewed May 13, 1673 ; Moss and Brackett were ordered in Oct. 1673 to lay out the grant ; their return was lost ; the property was sold in 1687 to Girdler ; etc.

t About two blocks N. E. of Union R. R. Station.

t Hartford Land Records, Vol. I. p. 340.

In other significant records, Thomas' is presented as selling his allotment in the Soldiers' Field, and as forfeiting lands on the east and west sides of the Connecticut River by removal :

" Febr= Anno dom : 1639

Severall parcells of land in Hertford upon the river of Conecticott belonging to Zach : Ffeild, &c. . . One psell lying . . in the Souldiers feilld .... he bought sum partt of it of william Pratt & one pt of Richard Codman & another pt of John

preihes & one pt of Thomas munson & one pt of Thomas barnes & one pt of William Philipes [and 5 others] Contain^ by estima0" eaight acres."

" Febr : Anno Dom : 1639

Severall parcells of land in Hertford upon the River of Conecticott pt whereof did belong to John Stone & now by him given to Samuel Stone ....

" One parcell lying on the East Side of the Great River, which sometime Belonged to Thomas Munson & was forfeited unto the Towne .... Containing by estimation two acres (more or less) Abutting upon the Great River on the west.

" One percell lyinge in the North meadow wch sometime Belonged to Thomas Munson & was forfeited unto the Towne & is now settled by the inhabitants of the Towne on John Marsh Containing by Estimation three acres (more or lesse) Abutting on the great River on the East."

i6jc>. Previously to the date of these records, February, 1640, Thomas Munson had quit the Hartford plantation and cast in his lot with the settlers at Quinnipiac. Such experiments were numerous. The Historical Catalogue of the First Church, Hartford, gives the names of 147 early members ;* seventyfour of them, including Thomas Munson, are said to have removed to other settlements.! The men who had a sight of Quinnipiac while engaged in the Pequot War, were enthusiastic over the place.

In April, 1638, Davenport and his fellow-adventurers sailed into the West Creek. On that as a base, a town-square comprising nine squares, was laid out. The following year (1639), on the 4th of June, a Fundamental Agreement was enacted in Mr. Newman's barn : its main point was that church-members only should be free burgesses, and have the elective franchise. Sixty-three " free planters"persons who had invested in the common property of the plantation assented to the " Agreement," and their names were appended to the instrument by Thomas Fugill, secretary. It was ordered that whoever should hereafter " be admitted here as planters," should subscribe their names to the " Agreement " : the fine signature of Thomas Munson is sixth in a list of forty-eight. I Accordingly, as the Hartford people were already regarding him as an alien in the following February, there is no reason

 

* As early as 1639, I believe.

t To Hadley 15, Farmington n, Saybrook 9, Norwalk 7, Northampton 6, Wethersfield 5, Middletown j, Boston 2, Windsor a, New London 2, Fairfield 2, New Haven 2 (viz., Thomas' Munson & Samuel Whitchead), Killingworth i, Springfield i, Stonington i, Southampton i, England i, Guilford i.

$ Thirteen signed by their mark.

to doubt that he became a New-Havener as early as 1639 ; he may have joined the settlement during its first year.

1640. The first definite date touching Thomas Munson's history as a New-Havener is that of a " Court " held April 3d, 1640 :

"Itt is ordered thatt brother Andrewes and brother Mounson shall veiw the grounds of difference betwixt Mr Malbon and Thomas Moulenor the elder "with the intent of promoting its adjustment.

At a "General Court," June nth, Thomas Mounson, ffrancis Newman and four others "was made freemen and admitted members of the Court." A list of 70 names, comprising "all the freemen of the Courte of New Haven," in the handwriting of Thomas Fugill (whose term of office expired 16 March 1646), has Thomas Mounson as No. 25.

Thirty-two "planters" who had no share in the common purchase,* were " freely " granted " small lotts on ye banke side and

Prefinan.

* The formal conveyance, by Sachem Momaugin and others, of their title " to all the land, rivers, ponds, and trees ... in Quinnipiac to the utmost of their bounds " (save a reservation on the east side of the Quinnipiac river) was dated Nov. 14, 1638 ; it was signed by the Sachem, his council, and his sister Shaumpishuh,and their marks were as follows :

On the nth of December, following, Mantowesc (of another tribe) conveyed a tract northward of the former, extending ten miles from south to north, eight miles east of the yuinnipiac and five miles west (save a reservation near the village now named Montowese) ; the conveyance I bears the marks of the Sachem and his companion :

These purchases comprised all the lands within ancient New Haven, Branford, and Wallingford, including nearly all of the present towns of East Haven, Woodbridge, Cheshire, Hamden, and North Haven.

by ye west creeke :" Thomas Munson and twenty-four others had

such lots between George Street and West Creek : the

date of the assignment is not recorded: a record dated

Oct. 23, 1640, treats of it as history. There, subsequently, Thomas

lived eleven years. At the date just mentioned, the General Court

showed non-proprietors further favor :

" Itt is ordered thatt all the small lotts about the towne shall

have 4 acres of planting ground to every Lott, and an acre to

every head, layd out beyond the East River betwixt сЛ

pastors farme and the Indians wiggwams." This was at the

2nd Division of out-lands in Oct. 1640 ; the "small lots" had no

share in the ist Division, Jan. 1640.

The Historical Catalogue of the First Church, New Haven, finds satisfactory evidence that Thomas Munson was a member as early as 1640.

1641. "ly 1 i1 mon: [March] . . It is agreed that the Small Lotts shall begin att the Great Rock on the farre side of Mill river, and so come downe towards the sea ; and then begin att the Lower end of the farre side of the Land in the East River and so come down to the hither side."

However, at a G. C., Feb. 23, 1646, "It was ordered that those who are admitted freely as planters into howse-lots shall have planting land sixe acres for a single person, eight acres for a man and his wife, & one acre added for each child at present, and shall pay 2d an acre from October last for all their lands in the playnes ['at the further end of the great playnes'], & beyond the east river."

This is on record: "Thorn. Munson 4 acr in ye 2d devisio w'hin ye 2 mile next Mr. Malbons."

At a court in Hartford Sept. 2,1641, the court being composed

of John Haynes, Esq', Gouerr, George Willis, Esq', Deputy, four

others, and the jury,a suit against John Hall of Hart

" ford had this result: "Tho: Munson agl John Hall

defend1, in an acn of defamation. The Jury find for the pi'

damages 20 s. Costs, vij s."

G. C., 29 Nov. 1641 : Vacant lots belonging to absentees are to be fenced at the town's charge (reimbursement shall be made) "and bro: Andrewes and bro: Mounson are to see that the fences be done well."

1642. (Aged 30.) "AGenr11 Court the 25'" of i2tb Mon: 1641 [Feb., 1642].

" Itt is ordered thatt Mr Rob1 Newman, Mr Francis Newm, Thomas Mounson, and Adam Nicholls, shall veiw the way

to the Plaines, and afterward itt is to be ordered so as may be most commodious for the publique good."G. C., " 6lh of 6 moneth " (Aug.) : " Rob' Ceely chosen leiveten'

of the Trayned Band, & Fran : Newmfi Ancient. Bro Andrewes, bro : Mounson, bro : Clarke, and Goodman Jeffrayes was chosen Sergeants." " Itt is ordered that the Gen1! Trayning dayes shall be observed once every mon1*." (Mounson bore the title of Sergeant nineteen years.)

 

FIRST MEETING-HOUSE.

1644* Mounson's name is 25th in a list of 182 inhabitants who took the "oath of fidelity" from Gov. Eaton at G. C., July ist. (Twenty-eight names were added Aug. 5th.)

A committee of four, including Thomas Mounson, and John Tompson, Naylor, was appointed by Court Aug. 7th to view and determine concerning damage done Thomas Nash by hoggs.

At same Court :

" Will Andrewes having undertaken to build and finish the meeting house, did lett out some part of the worke to Thomas

* I quote an original record at Springfield, Mass.: "Abraham Munden joyned in marriage to Anne Munson 3 mon : 16 day 1644." (Nothing more is known of Anne.)

h the said WiH Andrewes Consent and approbati, provided they did itt well ; butt in the Issue itt was defectively done by the said Thomas Saule and WiH Gibbons ; and Thomas Mounson and Jarvas Boykin conceive they are discharged of their Bargaine : but Will Andrewes alleadged thatt he never discharged them of their covenants whereby they were bound to do itt well and substantially, butt w'h condition thatt they should see the said Thomas Saule and Will Gibbons pform their bargaine, wch was to make the roofe of the Tower and Turrett Thite to keep out wett : butt because there was a defect of testimony on all sides, the Court advised them to consult together and doe itt amongst them, so as the meeting house may be kept dry w'hout delay."

JSP"0 The records of the Jurisdiction from April 1644 to May 1653 are lost.

1645. G. C., Feb. 24th." A comitte . . chosen in every Quarter to veiw the coron ffences and ffences belonging to every Quarter, some one day in the first weeke in every moneth :" Thomas Mounson and Rob1 Pigge for the Oystershell field. (A "quarter" was one of the house-lot squares ; each was enclosed by a common fence. Later, the out-lands belonging to a quarter also bore the name of that quarter, as Mr. Davenport's Quarter, Cooper's Quarter, the Yorkshire Quarter. There was a Suburbs Quarter. Oystershell Field was not then inhabited ; it lay eastward of East Creek. There were viewers for " the farmes " and " the plaines.")

G. С., " Last of March."The " Artillary Company " is organized : Thomas Mounson was chosen sergeant,though retaining his office in the Travned Band. Ordered "Thatt every

Artillery. x xi_- , r* Hi

one of this company purposely coming to any Gen"' or perticular Court, or to the ordinances att any publique meeting, whether on the Lords dayes, lecture dayes, dayes of solleme fasting or thanksgiving, shall carry and weare his sword by his side, under penalty of 6d for every such omission."

" Itt was ordered thatt a chist shall be made* forth w'h to putt the pikes in, to keepe them from warping, f vvch Thomas' Mounson and the rest of the officers undertooke to see done."

" Itt was ordered that the markett place [The Green] shall be cleared forthw'h, and the wood to be carried to the watch house, there to be piled ; and that the business may be effected, the care of it is committed to the 4 sergants."

* " In some convenient place in the meeting howse." t " Or other hurt or dccayes."

G. C., June 16th.Sergeant Mounson was one of four chosen to "consider where the dyers and Tanners may Gett their barke . . wlh the least damage to the publique :" and they have power to regulate.

Court, Dec. d."To put an end to the wrangles about the fences Belonging to the vacant Lotts, It was Ordered that Brother Andrewes And Brother Munson* shall veiw them all And Allow those that made them soe much as they were worth when they were sett upp."

G. C., Dec. 8th.The Governo', magistrates, deputies, elder, deacons, Mr Cheevers, three others, and bro. Munson, are a committee "to consider and digest" the case of inhabitants who have been enjoying public benefits, but " have hitherto borne noe part of the publique chardges."

Seawan was beads made of cylindrical bits of shells about onefourth of an inch in diameter, strung on a thread, and used by North American Indians as money. White seawan was ency' distinguished as wampum (meaning white), and dark purple as suckanhock. But the term " wampum " was employed by the planters for seawan of either color. Each white bead, in transactions with the natives, passed as the equivalent of a farthing, and the black or purple were valued as two farthings. For a dozen years or more wampum was currency in the transactions of the settlers with each other. Thus in 1645 the rates might be paid in money, beaver, wampom, or corne. Wampom was to be current pay under ao/s, if half be black and half white. It was ordained that " Indian wompom shall passe, the white at 6 a penny and the blacke at 3 a penny." But in April 1650, much of it had become " bad " by being passed " too & fro," so that it was not a welcome currency, "and some refuse to take it." In May it was recorded that " much of the wompom that is brought is so faulty that ye officers can hardly or not at all pass it away." It was4reckoned in July 1651 at "6s : 3'' per fathom." In Nov. 1651, it was ordered that all payments into the church-treasury be " in silver or bills." And in Dec. 1656, it was voted by General Court that "seeing wampom is now a drugg," Harriman, keeper of the ordinary, might refuse it.

1646. G. C., Feb. 23d. quot;Ordered that Bro: Atwater the Treasurer, Bro: Andrewes, & Brother Munson, shall prize the frame that was provided for an Inn & . . dispose of it."

* FugUl, the first Secretary, spelled Mounson.

"Bro: Andrewes, brother Munson," and three others, "are appoynted to view " " the east river in the way to Connecticott," and consider where and how a bridge should be built.

G. C, March 16th.The viewers "have found a conveynient place" for a bridge "over New Haven River going to Connecticott," about a mile & a halfe above "the old pasrl ge' sadge." Bro. Andrewes & bro. Munson require "41 10" for the carpenters worke & carriadge, & they thought 208 might serve to fit the banks for passadge." Ordered done.

[Court, April 7th.]" Serjeant Munson being complayned of for Taking away 3 hands from Traynings to goe fetch hay, he Alleadging A promise to have had it don while he was gonn to Moheigin,* & after he Came home,but being putt of, & in hazard, whether he should gett Canowes or the like, to doe it,and if he had not imbraced that oppertunity, he Could not have had hands to helpe him,& Considering it was don on a shewing day after they had shewed their Armes,he was fyned 2/8 each Person."

1647. (Aged 35.) "The perticular court," "the ruling elder,"

and "the 2 deacons," were directed by G. C, Jan. 4th, to "place

people in the seats in the meeting-howse ; " result

Seat in Church. , -, , . ,, ,, ,, ,, , ,

announced March 10th. "Iho" Munson (at the head) and five others had the 5th of "the Crosse seats at the end " (on the men's side),f corner-seat. " Sister Munson " sat on the opposite side of the house with three other " sisters" in the 2nd seat "on the side" (as distinguished from "the middle" tier). The same committee had been " desired to place men in the meeting howse" a year previously, Feb. 23, 1646 ; but the assignment is not on record.

G. C, March ioth."Brother Andrewes, Bro. Munson, & Goodman Basset, were desired to view the Posts of the meeting howse, & to see if the gists fly not out, & to doe whats necessary for the preservation of the whole, lest insensibly they should decay."

G. C, May 17th."Serj1 Munson did testifie in court" that Serjeant Jefferies "earnestly desired" release from his office, because he was "abroad much by reason of hs occassions at sea."

July 9th.ThoTM Munson a witness of Wra. Preston's Will.

Court, Nov. 2nd.p" Mr. Pery passeth ouer to Thomas Munson 16 : ac" of vpland wch is on halfe of the second devission of land wch belonged to that lott wch was old mrs eattons lying on the other side of the west river behind the yorkshir quarter."

* On the Thames, in New London Co., app'y. t The right-hand side, from the pulpit.

1648. Court, March -jtii.

" William Paine was Called to make goode the Charg wch he laide vpon Sriant Munson last Courte : wch was The he presented some for Comeing Late on the Lords day w'h their armes, but not others, Thoughe They offended equaly Alike. William Paine saide he was Loath to doe it, but yett presented sundry names he had in A papr, wch came Late The last saboth in maye, 1647, And the last saboth in June: some of them came Late And some brought not their Armes, sriant Munson saide he dissiered willm Paine might prove, first that the men came late ; 2dly that he did not present them. William Paine said hee hade not his proofe in Courte. He was Tould if there was indeede A fayling, he should first have Tould his sriant of it in A private waye : and if it had bine reformed, well : if not, then he might have Complained : for every souldier should strive in all lawful wayes to vphold the honour of their officers, further, sriant Munson saith That he had the names of sundry in A note to give the marshall that they might be warned to the Courte, but he lost it out of his p'ockett, he knowes not how. The sriant was Advised, And w'h him the other sriants, That they would Carefully attend The Dischargeing of that Trust wch is Committed to them ; for they maye see that the eyes of many are upon them."

G. C., March 8th.Each of the 4 sergents in turn (on every 4th night), is to go to the watchhouse, set the watch, and give them their charge : 2 of the 4 watchmen are to walk the rounds one part of the night, and the other 2 the remainder ; the 2 who are not walking, are to "keepe sentinell."

G. C., March 23d.Andrewes had proposed to give up keeping the ordinarie : finally proposed to sell his house to the town, and take a lease of it, that he might have money with which to buy provisions advantageously : committee to "consider with bro. Andrewes of this matter"Richard Myles, Henry Lendalle, Thomas Munson, Jervic Boykin, Francis Newman, and John Cooper.

Courte, Maye 2nd.

"William Paine was Called to make proofe of the Charge he

made against sriant munson. Нее saide it was not his Intent, to

Charge sriant munson w'h partialletie. The governer

told Hime he Charged it so as it must be partialletie or

grose negligenc. He produced william gibbins : whoe saith that

he Tooke notice That some came Late, as Henry Lindalle, Allen balle, goodman Lampson, william Blayden: but it is long sine, And he Cannot tell wheither they were Complained of, or no. John Halle saith he sawe Goodman Lampson And Henry Lindalle Come late ; but wheither they payde for it, or no, he cannot tell. William paine saith That Thomas moris Came w'hout Armes, And Edward Campe : William holt saith so Aliso.

" sriant Munson saith he Tooke not notice that they came w'hout Armes ; And wheither it was not upon some day that he was Absent,for he was 2 or 3 dayes Justly Hindered last Summer. And for Henry Lindall And Allen Balle, They were not in his Squadron :

" William payne was Tould he had not Carried it well : for he

should Have Told the Sriant of it before, And not lett it passe

till he was Complained of himselfe,and then in his distemper to

declare it, it did not savour well. But he said he was sorry for it.

Sriant Munson was told y' The Court Judged hime faithfull in

his Trust ; yett it had the Appearance of negligenc. But

they hoped this would be A warning, And so passed

it by."

Mention that Mrs. Wilkes's house, N. W. corner of State and George sts., was prized by William Andrewes and Thomas Munson.

G. C., July 3d.p" William Andrewes and Thomas Munson were desired to view the pillars of ye Meeting house, that any decaye in them maye bee timely discovered and prvented."

Committee on petition of Jonathan Marsh for " libbertie to sett up a shop to worke in, on his trade, under the bankeside, next the watter, before his house": Leivtenant Seely, Jasper Crane, Thomas Munson, and Francis Newman " to report to the governer."

Court, July 4th."James Clerke was complained of for absenc upon a trayning day when they showed armes. He said sariant Munson tooke him away, and he thought he would have bine at Court to have cleared him. But it was respited, and the Marshall ordered to warn sriant Munson to the next Court."

Court, Dec. 5th." Sarient Munson Informed the Court that he

was about 3 or 4 moneths sine accused In this Court

by Captaine malbon,that he had upon A Trayning day

Come to the Company & taken Away some men, & said he would

Answer it. But the thing was not True. But the thing was this :

mr Davenports* sellar was to be stoned, & the massons had

Acquittal.

Appointed to Come to worke on the second day from guilford, wch was trayning day hear. mr Davenport spake to him to gitt helpe, & Come & undersett the house, & prepare it so that the men might goe to worke when they Came. He told mr Davenport it was trayning day,therefore would have done it upon the last day before. But mr Davenport was not willing to have his house lye open upon the Saboth day, but saidlett him gett men and he would freely paye the fine if the towne required it. So he spake to two or three before, whoe helped him in the worke ; but he came not at the Company that morning.

" Mr Malbon Answered that he Cannot name the particular person that told him ; but he was sure he was told so ; & when the Company Came To his house for the Cullars, their was much stirr in the Company about it, and they was offended at it, in so much as some said, if this was put up they would trayne no more. That there was A great stirr in the Company about it, Leivtenant Seely, Ensigne Newman, & the Clarke, & others, do witnes ; but that Sariant munson was at the Company that morning, they cannot saye.

"The Court told Sariant Munson that it seemed their was some mistake in the buisenes ; but had he Caried it so highly as to take men away And saye he would Answer it, they should have bine much offended at it."

164Q. G. C, Jan. 3d. Report on Meeting-house pillars, groundsills, siding, &c; "the workmen " to consider again viz., \Vm Andrewes, Thomas Munson, Jervic Boykin, Jn Bassett, Robert Bassett, George Laremore, Jonathan Marsh & Thomas Moris.Thomas Munson (agreeing with Andrewes) had said "that he durst not give counsell to deffer the repairing of it."

" The governer Informed the Court that A while sine the particular Court was Informed of A miscariage of Sariant munson, that hee came to the Company & tooke awaye some men upon A trayning day morning to goe to work to mr Davenports, & said he would answer it. But he saith the thing was not so. Therfore if any in the towne can Charge it upon him, they are desired to speake ; if not, that then he may be Cleared, & men be more wary how they expresse themselves. But none spake to Charge him, but rather To Cleare him, & so it was past by."

G. C, Jan. 31st."Thomas munson, Jn. basset, Robert basset, william peck, Thomas mitchell, desired they might have some meddow granted them, out of A pec wch lyes by Livtenant Seelyes near ye blacke Rocke:" Seely and Brocket are to view " these

Review.

Acquittal.

 

several peels of meddovv," and report. The Black Rock was at the northern extremity of Solitary Cove (now Morris Cove).

Court, Mch. 6th." William Andrewes was desired to joyne wlh Thorn : Munson & Jervice Boykine to prise the house and lott of Robert Preston."

"The Inventorie [of estate John Hunter, dec1!] amounting to i б1* 04| o8f, prised by Thomas Munson & Thorn: Kimberly upon oath for ye vallew of ye goods."

Munson was one of sixteen " Tennants of oystershell field beginning 1648, Mrch ю ;" he had 2 acres (of 43) ;

Oyster skill Field. , .. , ,,

rented, at 3 s. an acre, for 7 yeeres.

Court, April 3d." Jn Cooper Informed the Court that ther is sundry Catle have bine pounded wch is To be paid by divers men whoe owned the fenc was then downe : A presented 3 notes wherin it Appeared that ther was 12 Cowes & 5 horses to be paid by mr Leach, mr Malbon, & Thorn: Kimberly, & the quarter gate ; & 29 Cowes upon Thorn: munson, mr gilbert, & Jeremiah How ; & 25 Cowes upon mr Malbon, mr Leach, & ye qrt. gate. The Court ordered that the poundage be pa by these men."

Court, May ist." Mr Pell* . . showed the award or arbitration betwixt John Budcl and himselfe, under the hand of Mr William Wells and Thomas Munson, whereby it appeared," &c.

G. C., Maye i4th.f " Sariant Munson Informed The Court that James Russell, being A watchman, pleads to be Excused, because by reason of some Lameness in one of his hands, he Cannot Discharge his gunn." (Must provide a substitute.)

G. C., June 25th." John Cooper desired that ther might be A man Appointed in each quarter, to know what quantity of Corne every man hath sowen or planted this yeere, That he is To be pd for : And Jn Cooper propounded : And the Court Appoynted ffrancis Newman for mr Eatons quarter; mr Ling for mr Newmans quarter ; [nine more; and] Thorn: Munson for oystershellfeild, those that live by the east Creeke, & on the Bankeside."J This inquiry concerns "any feild w'hin the Two Mile."

Court, Sept. 4th. Estate of James Haywood prised by William Andrewes, Thomas Munson, Thomas Kimberly, and Thomas Wheeler, Junr ; it included "^59: 0:0 in ув ship Fellowship."

" Thomas Munson tooke oath that y' apprism* he made of Robert Prestons goods or estate was justly done according to ye best of his light."

* Physician.

t F. Newman, Clerk.

$ Along the Harbor, E. of Chestnut St.

Can't he spared.

G. C., Sept. loth.Rumors concerning the Indians "ther pride and insolencie"announced by the Governor : "the whole ordering of these matters" referred "to ye pticular Court and ye sarjants joyned w'h them."

" The Gouerner further Informed the Court that Sarjant Munson is aboute goeing To Connecticote, to staye their this winter. Therfore the Court maye Consider whether it be safe for ye towne to lett him goe,seeing Sarjant Andrewes is not at home. The Court thought it not fitt that he should now goe ; but desired the Gouerner to Informe them at Connecticote, whom it Concernes, that it is not his neglect,but the Towne hinders him for publique respects."

G. C., Sept. 24th." It is ordered that upon ye dayes of publique meeting, a sentinell should stand upon the meeting house, to discover any danger that may be ; and that, every night, on of the watchmen be sent up ther two or three times to looke aboute and make discovery of any danger by fire, or Indians, or other danger that may be espied. And Thomas Munson & Jervice Boykin were desired to mend ye ladder that they goe up upon ; and y" flou re, both goeing to it and landing from it."

Court, Oct. 2nd."Sarjant Munson was Complained of for neglecting to give out the bills of y' watches in his squadron in season, whereby the watch Could not be full one night. And he, seeing and Confessing it was his mistake, told yc master of ye watch he would Come downe, & see y" watch made up,but did not, nor can tell any reason wch might Justly hinder his Coming. The Court Considered of his miscarriage herein, and ordered that he paye as a fine to ye towne 6' 8*."

G. C., Oct. I5th." Two men out of each quarter "twenty in all appointed a committee "to consider and draw up y* severall rates wch they thinke every man should paye :" it included Mr. Tuttill, Francis Newman, Mr. Gilbert, Samuel Whitehead and Thomas Munson.

G. C., Nov. 2cth.Nathaniel Meriman* and William Russell* chosen members of rating committee " in ye roome of Thomas Munson & ffrancis Browne ;* because the one is not at home, and the other Cannot attend it because of the fferry."

jojo. Court, March sth. "A fine of Serjant Munsons laid October 2th 1649, of 6' 81, was remitted."

1651, G. C., March loth." The Court granted to Robert Pigg a piece of Land of aboute 4 acres formerly granted to Thomas

Complaint.

* All " Bank-side " men.

Munson, out of Mr Roes Lott, but now by him resigned to Robert Pigg if the towne give consent."

Abraham Smith had left a lott in the hands of Wm Bradley, which he desires to " resign into ye townes hands," namely, " a home Lott neare Thorn Munsons," &c.

Court, April ist."Thomas Munson hath sould to Robert Pigg his dwelling house, and house lott, and all the housing thereupon as barne and Shop & Henhouse,garden & Trees ; and all his meddow on the other side the Harbour, betwixt the Meddow of John Vinson and Goodman Hitchcocke ; and 3 acres of Land Lying in the new field by the Millway, betwixt the Land of Jn Moss and Ephraim Pennington." Where he dwelt the next five years does not appear.

It seems not unlikely that the Sergeant sold out with a design of migrating to Delaware Bay. Three months and a half previously, Dec. 17, "At a Town Meeting "" The Governer Informed ye Court that y* Cause of this meeting is because divers of ye towne have bine with him and expressed a sense of difficulty in Carrying on ther family occasions with Comfort in this place, ther being more in ye towne [say, 500 !*] then can well subsist together ; and therefore they thinke ther is a necessitie that some should remove ; also that Delaware Bay hath bine propounded as a place fitt to receive plantations which may be for y" good of posteritie." . . Names were called; each spoke his mind. " Ye major part by farr did see a Necessitie that some part of ye towne should remove." Delaware Bay was approved of.

"At a Meeting of the Townesmen, Dec. 3, 1651, Jervice Boykin

was desired to Call John Basset & Thomas Munson &

Ntck Bndge. yiew y, Neck bri(]ge . Mr Atwater & ffrancis Newman

were desired to go with them."

1632. (Aged 40.) G. C., Feb. cth."Thomas Munson desired

the Towne to give him a parte of Mrs. Eldreds home lott

raposa . j-nortn of -j-ne (j.reen . included Temple St.], to build

and live upon : and propounded his purpose of setting aboute

makeing of wheeles ; which some what inclined the Towne To

hearken to his motion, and left it to the Townesmen to doe as They

see cause."

"At a meeting of the Townsmen February 2ith . . It is propounded to the Towne concerning Mr* Roes home Lott [east of The Green, site of City Hall] that Mr Davenport might have that third part next his owne lott which Mr Crane has, or so much

* In 1700, pop. " very little, if at all, exceeded five hundred."Kingley's Hist. Disc.

Indians.

Cross the lott against his owne as he desires it : And that Mr

Gilbert might have that third part he hath next his owne :

and that Thomas Munson should have the other third

part upon condition that he doe presently after possession of it,

build a suitable house upon it, and follow the Trade of makeing

wheeles, for the good of the Towne, and plowes and other things

for the furtheranc of husbandry, as he can."

Court, May 4th.("Alienation) John Vinton passeth over to Isack Beecher 6 acres of Land at the plaines, lying betwixt the land of John Sackit and yl which was Thorn Munsons."

1653. (The case of Mrs. Elisabeth Godman, suspected of witchcraft, was investigated by the courts in May and August.)

Court, Nov. ist. Thomas Munson one of three appraisers of John Basset's estate, Jan. 3d.

1654. G. C., June I4th. "Some complaints were made, aboute the Indians planting in ye quarter on Mr Goodyeares ground ; and of killing of hoggs, and stealing pease, and

that their Corne planted, is like to be spoyled, except fenced. The court appointed Serjant Munson, Serjant Jeffery [and two others] to treat with them and endeavor to convince them."

G. C. for the Jurisdiction, June 23d.It was announced in G. C. for the J., June pth, that commissioners from " his Highness, Oliuer, Lord Protector of England, Scotland and Ireland," had come to the four colonies for the purpose of uniting them in hostile demonstrations against "the Dutch on Hudsons River and at the Manhatoes." The quota of New Haven was 133 men ;* of whom at the present G. C., Lieut. Seely was made captain, and " Serjant Munson, Serjant Whitehead, Serja: Tibballs of Milford, & serja: Bartlet of Guilford, serjants." It is a curious fact that the news reached Boston June 20 that peace had been concluded between England and the United Provinces on the sth of April, two months before Cromwell's request for co-operation was received at New Haven !

G. C., Oct. 3d.Thomas Munson was chosen to arbitrate in the case of an action for slander, and to adjust all differences in respect to a bargain for a boat.

" In the autumn of 1638, the year of the allotment of our colony, a company of the colonists the most important of whom was George Lamberton voyaged to Delaware Bay."f The party took with them a Pequot Indian to actas interpreter. All the lands along the New Jersey side of Delaware Bay

 

Dutch War.

Delaware Bay.

 

(some eighty miles) were purchased of the Indians for 60. Lands were also acquired on the Delaware side of the Bay.* Factories for trade with the Indian trappers were established. " There was a purchase," says the New Haven record, " made by some pticular psons, of sundry plantatio" in Delaware Bay, att their owne charge, for the advancem* of publique good, as in a way of trade so aliso for the settling of churches and plantations in those pts, in combinado w'h this."

" Itt was propounded to the Genr" Court," Aug. 30,1641, " w'her plantations should be settled in Delaware Bay, in combinado w'h this towne." Decided in the affirmative, and Capt. Turner was released from public duty at New Haven that he might "goe to Delaware Bay for his owne advantage, and the publique good in settling the affayres thereof." That same year, Capt. Lamberton, the owner of the Cock, " which was the first vessel recorded as owned in New Haven," sailed in that vessel for the Bay, "carrying with him as adventurers about twenty New Haven colonists." An historianf says that "nearly fifty families" removed. They began their settlement at a place now known as Salem, in New Jersey. But the Swedes, who claimed the lands on the Delaware side of the Bay, imprisoned Lamberton, and fined him, and prejudiced the Indians against the colonists. Trading-posts were established, however, by Turner, and prospects were opening favorably. Then, in 1643, the Dutch authorities at Manhattan, who claimed the lands on both sides of the Bay, sent two armed vessels against the New Haven settlers, whose storehouses were burned, while they were allowed to take their movable goods with them back to New Haven. It is believed that there were some of the NewHaveners who were living elsewhere than at Salem, who were not expelled. And the adventurers did not relinquish their claim to the territory which they had purchased. In 1644, only a year or two after the expulsion of the colonists, a vessel was sent with a second colony ; but incautiously entering the port of New York to complete their outfit, they were compelled by the Dutch to return, with considerable loss of property. Capt. Lamberton, however, and others persisted in making voyages to the Delaware.

See above, 1651.

G. C. for the town, Nov. 2nd.

"The Governor acquainted the Towne that understanding from some that they expected some Information aboute Delaware Bay : Whereupon he read to them a Letter he wrott to the S weeds

Not later than 1641. t Barber.

Governor by order of the Generall Court in July last, and an answer thereunto [in Latin] received from the Sweeds Governor, and a Letter written by the Commissioners in Answer to that : also that when he was at Hartford at the Commission, severall spake to him there about Their goeing theither, if it might be planted : and therefore yc Towne may now Consider, which way it may be carried on. But after much debate aboute it, and scarce any manifesting their willingness to goe at present, a Comittee were Chosen, viz., Robert Seely, William Davis, Thomas

Munson, and Thomas Jeffery, to whom any that are

Committee. .,.. i_ ^ i ^- r j

willing to goe may repaire to be taken notice of ; and

that, if there be cause, they treat with those of Newhaven, who have purchased those Lands, to know what consideration they expect for them."

Nov. 27th, the Committee reported that they had spoken with sundry persons in the towne ; but that not answering expectation, they got a meeting of the brethren and neighbors, and for the most part they were willing to help forward the work, some in person, others in estate, so the work might be carried on and foundation laid according to God ; and at that meeting they desired that the governor and one of the magistrates, with one or both the elders, might by their persons, help forward that work ; whereupon they had a church-meeting, and propounded their desire. The elders declared they were willing to further the work and glad it was in hand ; but Mr. Davenport said, in reference to his health he sees not his way clear to engage in it in person ; nor Mr. Hooke, because his wife is gone for England, and he knows not how God will dispose of her. The Governor gave no positive answer, but said it was worthy of consideration.

They further informed that some from other plantations see a need of the work and are willing to engage in it. . . They also declared that they had treated with the proprietors about the purchase of the land, and understood they are out about six hundred pounds, but are willing to take three hundred pounds, to be paid in four years.

It was propounded to Mr. Samuel Eaton and Mr. Francis Newman to go with the company, who took the matter into consideration, and on the i ith of December, signified their conditional assent.

1655. Thomas Munson becomes leader in the movement to found a new commonwealth at Delaware Bay.

Generall Court for the Jurisdiction, Jan. 3oth.

"A petition was p'sented by Thomas Munson and Coopr of Newhauen on behalfe of a company of persons intending to remoue to Delaware Bay, wherein they propound that for the inlargment of the kingdome of Christ, the spreading of the gospell, and the good of posteritie therein . . they would afford some incourragment to help forward so publique a work. i. That two magistrats, MT Samuel Eaton and Mr. Francis Newman, may haue libertie from this court to goe in person at first. . . . 2. In case that there be an undertaking, they that goe may at first goe under the protection of this jurisdiction, and that in case of any affront the jurisdiction will engage to assist, till by the blessing of God they may be able of themselves to set up a Comon wealth according to the fundamentalls for goverm' laid at Newhaven. 3. That seeing our numbers are yet small, aboute or betwixt 50 and sixty, wee desire the court to consider what number they thinke may be a competent number, that wee may serve Gods pvidence and yet not let the worke fall for want of too great a number." They also request the grant of "two great gunns," relief from taxation, and "a some of money wch may be imployed, either to buy a small vessell that may attend the service, or otherwise, as shall be thought meete." The petition was signed by John Cooper and Thomas Munson, "in ye behalfe of the rest."

"To wch the Court returned,

"That hauing read and considered a papr of some propositions presented by Thomas Munson and John Cooper of Newhauen, in the name and behalfe of sundrie psons of this jurisesfot, . jjjcjjon^ an{j elsewhere, appearing as undertakr for the first planting of Delaware . . do return in answer as followeth. i. That they are willing . . to grant libertie to one or both of those magistrats mentioned to goe along wlh them, who "with " other fitt persons,"" may be impowered for managing of all matters of civill gouernment there." 2. " They [the court] purpose when God shall so inlarge the English plantations in Delaware as that they shall grow the greater part of the jurisdiction, that then due consideration shall be taken for the ease and conveniency of both parts, as that the gouernor may be one yeare in one part and the next yeare in another, and the dept. gouernor to be in that part where the gouernor is not, and that genrll courts for makeing lawes may be ordinarily but once a yeare, and where the gouernor resids ; and if God much increase plantations in Delaware and deminish them in these parts, then possibly they may see cause that the gouernor may be constantly there and the deputie gouernor here." . . 3. The request for material aid was commended "to the seuerall pticular plantations."

G. C. for N. H., March 16.The town was informed that the occasion of this meeting is to let them understand how things are at present concerning Delaware, now John Cooper is returned ; he finds little encouragement in the Bay [Mass.], few being willing to engage in it at present ; and therefore they may consider whether to carry it on themselves or to let it fall. Mr. Goodyear said, notwithstanding the discouragements from the Bay, if a considerable company appear that will go, he will adventure his person and estate to go with them in that design ; but a report of three ships being come to the Sweeds, seems to make the business more difficult. After much debate about it, it was voted

fb< У- by tjje town in this case, that they will be at twenty or thirty pound charge ; that Mr. Goodyear, Serjeant Jeffery, and such other as they think fit to take with them, may go to Delaware and carry the commissioners letter and treat with the Sweeds about a peaceable settlement of the English upon their own right ; and then after harvest, if things be cleared, company may resort thither for the planting [settlement] of it.

April 9th.The town was informed that there were several who

have purposes to go, but they conceive that they want number of

men and estate to carry it on ; now if any be willing to

Persistence. - ., . . . ',

further it, in person or estate, they may do well to declare it. . . They may go free and not engaged to be a part of this jurisdiction, yet they and all such as come after must engage upon the same foundations of government as were at first laid at New Haven. . .

Furthermore, two guns would be loaned them, property which should lie unimproved should be free from taxation a year and a half, and the emigrants should not be at the charge of hiring watchmen.

After the English made a conquest of the Dutch possessions, a letter to Col. Nicolls, one of the royal commissioners, dated 20 Dec. 1664, said : " We had purchased a great tract of land on y* one and y" other side of y* Bay or River, and a plantacon begun by sundry persons, & a trading house set up, wch ye Dutch pillaged and burnt, and so wholly destroid y* designe at y' tyme. Two or 3 yeares Afterwards, a new attempt was made and a vessell sent, wch was then alsoe stopt at the Manhatoes, and sundry of y" principall persons imprisoned by the Dutch governo1, so y' nothing y' way hath ever bin attempted since, although y*

Discontinuance. T ,. , , , , л j -n

Indians of wnome we purchased ye land doe still owne our right & much desire ye coming of the English." They humbly desire that their "just claim to ye premises . . may be admitted."

G. C., March i2th. A committee of nine, including Thomas Munson, was appointed to clear " the Necke" (the tract between Mill River and the Quinnipiac).

G. C., Aug. 8th.Swine are spoiling Indian corn that is planted: T. M. is one of seven owners of swine which have haunted the quarters where Indian corn is planted.

1656. The project of founding a commonwealth at Delaware Bay having been relinquished after five years of vigorous endeavor, Serg. Munson again invests in real-estate at New Haven.

Court, Jan. ist."Thomas Wheeler Senior passeth over to Thomas Munson that house lot he bought of Mr Augar* lying next yc lot of Christopher Todd ; six acres of Land or there abouts in Mr Davenports qrt, lying betwixt Joseph Nash and Ffrancis Browne ; and as much .among the Lotts towards the Mill, betwixt the Lands of Edward Watson & John Vinson ; and about 6 : acres in ye new feild toward ye mill, betwixt the Land of Tho: Kimberly and Tho: Morris ; and the meddow which lyes at the end of it, which is about three acres ; and about 2 acres & a halfe of Land in y* Neck ; and yc coiaionadg which belongeth to the said accomodations." This "house-lot," on the S. E. corner of Church and Elm streets, fronting westward on The Green, was given to Nicholas Auger "by the Towne, out of a lott formerly called an Elders Lott ; " he passed it over to Wheeler, Dec. 6, 1653 ; the record describes it as "lying betwixt Christopher Todd and the markit place." Munson seems to have resided on that corner about six years : he and Mr. Gilbert were of the same " quarter " in Feb. 1656.

G. C., Feb. nth.The "West bridge" grows old & rotten. The towne " left it to ye townsmen to call workmen, viz, William Andrews, Thorn : Munson, Jervic Boykin,and Geo: Smith, to view it," & advise. This historic bridge spanned West River, at the foot of West Lane (now Davenport St.).

Demmon of Fairfield had a ship burned, with a loss of .200 : practical sympathy was proposed, and several were "appointed to speake with theire neighbours in the severall quarters . . viz!, Mr Gilbert, Thomas Munson, for his [their] owne and ye next quarter ; " etc.

By a seating of the Meeting-house announced at a G. C., Feb.

nth, Thomas Munson had a place at the head of the 6th of "the

long seats in ye midle for men ; " one of his six seat

1"г' mates was Christopher Todd, the miller, ancestor of

Rev. Dr. John Todd ; in the first of these seats were the Governor

Physician.

and the Deputie Governor. " Permitted to sitt in yc Alley (upon their desire) for convenience of Hearing Goodwife Beecher ye elder, Goodw : Munson," and 3 others.

About May ist came a proposal from Cromwell "to the people of New Haven, who have thoughts of removing to Delaware Bay," that they should remove to Jamaica,* exchanging " that desert and barren wilderness" for "a land of plenty." Alluring inducements were offered, and the proposal was favorably entertained at first ; but an early decision was against removing. The Lord Protector had attempted five years previously to draw them away to Ireland ; they were to have "a small distinct province by themselves," at the city of Galway.

G. C., May 19th.Thomas Munson was chosen one of the

seven Townsmen (now selectmen). " Townes-men " were first

chosen Dec. 3, 1651, that the town-meetings (general

courts), "wcl1 spends the towne much time, may not

be so often."

G. C., 4* of y lo1!1 M [Dec.]Towne to provide six horses, "with furniture," "towards the Raising of a small Troope for the publique service." (Serj. M. had been sent by the Townsmen to view furniture for four horses, at Milford. Munson was one of six citizens who signified a willingness " to keepe a horse for this service."

1657. (Aged 45.) Court, 3 i1.' M [March]. " Widdow Wheeler was Called before the Court, and asked if the business Betwixt Serjant Munson and she, about ye wood, is Issued. She said, no ; whereupon she was told That if matters be not ended before the next Court, she must answer it then."

G. C., i8f 3* m [May].Thomas Munson chosen one of the seven townsmen.

Court of Elections at New Haven for the Jurisdiction, y" 27th of y 3d M.The "'rate " (tax) to be paid " halfe of it in money, or beauour at currant price, or in good merchantable corn wh is to be wheat and pease (or a third wheat, a third rie, and a third pease), at five shillings p bushel wheat, and foure shillings p bushel pease and rie ; and the other hlfe in corne or flesh, as ordered last yeare [л e., beefe at two pence halfe penny a pound, and porke at three pence halfe penny], or other paye as may satisfye the treasurer and answer the jurisdictions occasions."

G. C., 8th 4th M! [June]." Jervic Boykin & Thorn: Munson are to search this [the incompetent Neck Bridge, which \Vm. Andrewes is to rebuild quickly after harvest], that what danger there is may be discovered and prevented as much as may be." This most historic bridge, spanning Mill River near the foot of East Rock (State St.), was the one under which Whalley and Goffe were concealed when their pursuers rode over it into New Haven.

* The Protector had taken the island from the Spaniards.

1658. 2: i: [March].*"Thomas Johnson had order to take y* timber that he attached of Thorn: the Indians, and let it be Justly prised by Thomas Munson and Richard Hull ; and likewise a pare of old bootes, to be prised by Abraham Dowlitle."

G. C., 8: i: M [March]. Chose Thomas Munson, Jervice boykin, William Russell and Jn Cooper, to consider whether "ye

beavour pond brooke can be brought to the Beaver-Pond Brook. , . ., -n , v. u ..

Towne, that the mill might be set up here, to

report to a committee consisting of the Townsmen, " the deputies of ye Court, and Jno Cooper"who will be plenipotentiary to call on every family for two days work to build " ye damm."t

Court, 6: 2 M.Inventorie of the estate of John Peaken dated the first of february 1657,aprised by Thomas Munson and William Russell.

22: 2 M.Order: " Serjant Boykins squadron is to goe first," then Serjant Whitheads, then Serjant Jeffery, then Serjant Munson.

G. C., 17: 3 M [May].Thomas Munson chosen one of seven selectmen.

Court of Elections for the Jurisdiction, May 26th.Francis Newman made Governor in place of Theo. Eaton who had died Jan. 7th.

Court, Aug. за."Sargeant Boykin informed, that Sargeant

Munson & himself had lately had a treaty with Sarjeant Fowler,

concerning his part of the Mill." They succeeded neither

'in buying nor hiring. There is mention of " The owners

of the Mill," June i, 1642. John Wakefield is mentioned as "the

Miller" Aug. 5th following. This mill was on Mill River, at Mill

Rock, New Haven. It was one of the refuges of Whalley and

Goffe. (Fowler built a mill at Milford in 1640.)

Court, Oct. 5th.Stephen Peirson complained of his master Thomas Mulliner, to whom he was bound in England, for seven years, according to the indenture,he was to be taught the trade of a house-carpenter; but in four years he has made scarcely any progress,he " knows not how to hew a piece of timber." " Mr. Mulliner answered y' when he had worked at his trade, he was set about it, & y he had already entered him in y' trade so far y! there was a roofe of a barne which he hewed, & a gate which he made himself : he also said y! he had spoken to Sargeant Munson to perfect him in his trade. To which Sargeant Munson now answered that Mr Mulliner did speake to him, but he could not undertake to fulfil that Indenture. But if it might be thought to be for the good of yi boy, he would doe what he could. Some Carpenters, being present, were desired to express, whether in the time remaining he might learne ye trade: to whch Sargeant Munson answered y! there was no hope, that he should be taught according to y* Indenture ; but that he might learne it, according to the usuall way of this Country, something might be said."

* Mr. Gibbard wrote his servant's mother in England " last year and doubts not but he shall have an answer this next Summer ! "

t Six years before, at a G. C., Feb. 9, 1652, it was " propounded that the beaver pond brook might be brought to the towne to sett a mill upon."

An " apprizment " of the estate of Deputy-Governor Goodyeare was made Oct. isth by Nash, Davis, Lindon and Munson. His property included "a part in y' iron worke" and "some debts at y* Barbadoes."

Court, Dec. 7th. Estate of Daniel Bradley owed Tho: Munson 3;.

1659. G. C., Jan. i3th." Sergeant Munson certified y' Towne, y' he had lately received a letter from Mr T Pell " requesting the delivery of what was gathered for Deamon of Fairfield.

G. C., Feb. z8th.

Committee on Mill report through Sargeant Munson the advice of Goodman Bushnell. "Sargeant Munson exprest as followeth : That Goodman Bushnell being at the desire of the Committee come to the Towne, they appointed 3 or 4 of themselves to goe along with him to shew him the worke in hand ; who, going first to the great dam, after they had viewed it, he declared that he judged y' dam good only advised to doe something more for the perfecting of it ; afterwards, cominge to y* great trench, it being not deep enough, It was propounded to him whether the pond should not be lowered, that the trench might be digged deeper, w* he inclined not to, but advised to lower the trench by some other meanes, & to place a pen stocke there ; they comeing through the quarter, & observing y? water course, & ye Creeke, as also the ground through wr.h the water must run for an overshott Mill,to that he advised not, but haveing tried y* Creeke by y" levell, he advised to make a dam over y* Creeke, about Mathew Rowes house, & there to sett up a brest Mill, wc.b, w* the help of the brooke at John Sackitts (which he was informed of), he judged would be sufficient to serve y* Towne ; only this inconvenience he spake of, that y" miller must oft goe to the penstocke, to stopp & let goe the water, wc.b by his experi

ence* what quantity of water will serve the mill, with ye help of the pond at the Towne, he said might be prevented in part that he need not daily goe to it.

"Sergeant Munson further declared that they had desired him to build the mill, wc.h he refused to doe ; but had left directions (wc.h were taken from him in writeing) how y" worke should be done, & withall had promised, that when y". worke is prepared, that he would be here a fortnight, to see to y setting of her downe, for the preventing of any error in y! matter."

Thereupon "the whole town declared their desire was worke shall be carried on with y'. first conveniency."

Court, May nth.Abigail Hitchcock chose Sergeant Munson as her guardian.

1660. G. C., Jan. icth."Will Andrews declared that Thomas Munson, Tho Morris, Jervice Boykin, & himself, had taken a view of the Meetinghouse" (with reference to repairs).

Court, Feb. 7th.Sam1 Marsh complained of for taking a bag of corn from the mill [hopper], and striking Nath1 Holt & kicking him part way down stairs. " He [Marsh] further said, that Brother Munson did at y! time, wish him to consider of what he had done,To whom he answered that the Boy did him wrong, wc.b he related in the particulers ; after wc.h he remembers not that Bro: Munson sd any more, So that he thought he was pretty well satisfied. . . After this he was at the mill, but neither ye milner nor Brother Munson who~ he saw there . . spake anything to him of it. But almost a fortnight after, Bro: Munson sent, & by writeing informed him that the matter was publique, & advised him to speake with Goodman Holt about it, w'.h he thought to doe [but was too late]. The Governor declared, that he was glad that he hath taken the matter into Consideration further then formerly he seemed to doe, wc.h was his duty to have done at first, when Sargeant Munson had left it with him to consider off,who had waited about a fortnight to see the fruit of it."

Feb. 2oth. "The Gouernor desired that it might be considered whether a village might not be settled neare the black Rock, and something thought off there for our defence ; for ye furtherance of wc.h businesse, Brother Andrewes & Bro: Munson were desired to Treat w1!1 the Indians about exchange of some Land,who are to make their returne to the Gouernor, who with y'. rest of the Court are desired how it may be carryed on, in y' best way to y! end propounded."!

Indians.

* An illegible word or sign. t Gibburd is Sec.

Court, Mch. 6th. The Commissioners on Mr Goodyear's estate "did Alienate for ever unto Tho: Munson, Francis Browne, \Vm Russell, Tho Morris, & John Hall, yt whole Accomodations w": Coraonage, wc.b remaines unsould, belonging to the lott called ml Hickcox."

G. C., March 2ist."Viewers of fences . . y' Gouernors quarter, Tho: Munson, Tho: meakes [Mix]."

G. C., June 2ist."Mr Bower declared that he conceives, half of Mr.' Eldreds lott was granted unto him. To wc.b Sargeant Munson said," etc. G. C., June 21st.

The Jurisdiction court* provided in 1659 "for y*. Settling of a Colony Schoole (for teaching of lattine, Greeke, & Hebrew)" the schools in the several plantations proving inadequate ; and the " first Tender " is made to New Haven. The Jurisdiction offers ,100 stock "for the providing a house for the master to live in, & a Schoolhouse," and ^40 per annum ; the residue needful for the school, is to be supplied by the town accepting the tender. New Haven accepted : " To which end, Mr Gilbert, Leaftenn! Nash, Sargeant Munson, & John Cowper, were appointed a Committee, to provide a house for the schoolemaster & a Schoolehouse." Jer. Peck of Guilford, the first and only teacher, began service in Oct. 1660, with a salary of $o and a dwelling ; but the General Court 5 Nov. 1662 voted to discontinue the school at the end of the month, on account of insufficient patronage. New Haven itself was sending only five or six pupils.

G. C., July 25th.Schoolmaster Peck is to fit pupils for " the college ;" Munson one of four to provide a house for his use next winter. (SamueP Munson was seventeen years old.)

On the 4th of June previously, an institution had been founded, under the encouragement of Gov. Hopkins, which was designed for a college. ; but amidst the disturbance and depression ge' which characterized the last two or three years of the New Haven republic, the Colony Grammar-School, of which Peck was master, languished and expired, and the College, having no function, declined to a preparatory grade, becoming the Hopkins Grammar-School. When the settlement at New "^ "" , Haven was only ten years old, March 23, 1648, a

Grammar-School. J J >

committee was empowered by Generall Courte "to consider and reserve what lott they shall see meete & most commodious for a colledg, wch they dissire may bee sett vp so soon as

their abillitie will reach therevnto." In 1654 the College project was " revived," and New Haven's subscription to the enterprise was "above ,300," while the other towns of the jurisdiction raised ^240.

1661. G. C, Feb. 25th." Complaint was made of unruly doggs will bite horses as they passe in the streets to the endangering of their Riders. Sargeant Munsons dogg & Tho Johnsons dogg was spoken off : wcb was also left till the next Meeting."

G. C, March 7th." Sargeant Munson being desired, declared that the way [of enlarging the schoolhouse] thought of, was, to sett up a crosse building, at the end of the old house, of the same height, breadth, and length (or within a foot) as the house that now is ; and that so much of the length of the new building, as answers the Breadth of the old, to be an enlargm' of the como schoolehouse ; the other part, a partition being made, and it furnished with a table, shelves to lay bookes 6, etc., to be for a private Roome for the mr or such as he sees meet, to make use of, as occasion is."

G. C, March 7th."Sargeant Munson was chosen Ensigne.

But he not accepting the place, the vote was declared Null : who

was desired, as a sargent, for some time to supply the place

nngn. q an Ensigne, tjjat }ie might have Triall of his Abillityes,

in the work and exercise of that Office, wc.h he promised to do."

The " Ensigne " was an officer who carried the ensign or flag.

G. C, Aprill 29th." Sarjeant Munson, who was formerly Nominated for Ensigne to the Millitary Company, Now accepted that Trust."

Court of Election for the Jurisdiction, May 29th. Wm. Leete chosen governor in place of Newman who died 18 Nov. 1660.

1662. (Aged 50.) Court, Jan. 7th.Thomas Munson and J. H. appraisers of estate of John Benham.

G. C, Feb. 10th."John Cooper in the Name of the Committee appointed Jan: 20: 61 declared that they had sould the Townes house wc.h was lately M' Kitchells, with all the accommodations thereunto belonging, unto Tho: Munson at the price of 105'I1, of wc.h 50' is to be presently paid, 10 * sometime within y' yeare 1662, the other 45 ' sometime within the yeare 1663." This was Elder Robert Newman's place, now divided by Temple St.,* and extending from Grove to Wall. On it stood the "mighty barn" in which the constitution of the colony was enacted 4 June 1639. Samuel' and Caleb'in Dec. 1726 quitclaimed

* Temple Street was laid out 32 Sept., 1784. His lot was mainly W. of the street,extending only a few yards eastward.

to Theophilus3 " a part of that home lot that was our Honoured Grand ffathers mr Thomas Munsons," and they bounded it " North by highway, west wd by that lot that was Mr Dixwels [the regicide], southward by Pirepont and Mixes, east by sd Munsons land."

G. C., Feb. loth.By the seating in the Meeting house, Ensign

Munson, Mr. Auger, and others, were to occupy No. 2 of "the

short Scales in the upper end;" while Sister Munson

At Mating. wag to st bef ore м Goodyears seat," MT Goodyear

and M'.' Gilbert being assigned to one of "the long Seates for weomen," the first appropriated to that sex.

Court, April ist.Thomas Munson & J. H. requested to attend to some business pertaining to the estate of John Benham, decd., viz., to induce creditors to make some abatement of claims for the benefit of the widow.

G. C., April z8th.Will: Andrews, Tho: Munson, and 5 others, elected Townsmen.

G. C., April 28th.Witt Andrewes, Tho: Munson, & Thomas Morris, having lately viewed the meeting house, report by request that one of the Pillars, & one of the long girts, is very rotten. Their remedy adopted.

Court, May 6th.Thomas Munson & J. H. report that 12 creditors of Benham's estate offer to abate 25 per ct., & one, Wm. Gibbard, all.

G. C., May 23d.John Cowper & James Bishop were chosen deputies to the next Generall Court of the Jurisdiction or epuy. oiony. who. Munson the third in choice."

G. C., June 16.Deputies for the towne Court,* Mr Davenport Jun., Leiftenn' John Nash, Ensigne Thomas Munson, & James Bishop. This "towne court" was the "court," or "par'" ge' ticular court," or "monthly court," or "plantation! court." A magistrate or magistrates, assisted by two, three or four deputies, might "try any Civill cause . . in valew not exceeding twenty Pounds, and any Criminall cause, when the punishment by Scripture Light, exceeds not stocking, and whipping, and if the fine be pecuniary, when the fine exceeds not five Pounds." (This court might become competent to try the greatest causes, not capital, by calling in the aid of two neighboring magistrates.)

* To relieve confusion in respect to the various kinds of courts, distinguish, ist, the " general court for the jurisdiction," the legislature of the Colony,which was at the same time judicial as a supreme court of appeals ; and, the " general court " for the town or plantation, which was townmeeting ; зс!, the " court of magistrates," a " jurisdiction " or Colony court, regularly semi-annual, for the trial of superior causes, and to serve as an inferior court of appeals ; and 4th, " court," " town court," " plantation court," "particular court," " monthly court," a judicial body for the trial of ordinary causes. This 4th kind is usually indicated in these Annals by "Court;" the general court for the town is indicated by " G. C." We may add that the " court of election " was the May session of the "general court for the jurisdiction," at which the Colony officers were elected.

t A " plantation " was a community where there were " a Church duely gathered, and Freemen orderly admitted."

In 1662, the custody of 4 " Indian Coats, for souldiers " (there were 20 such coats), " one sadle, i bridle and one Case of pistolls", was given to Serjant Munson.

G. C., Aug. nth." Roger Ailing [treasurer] informed y" towne that ye sixty pound to be received from Bro: Munson would not discharge all behind by thirty pound."

Wlu Andrewes, Ensigne Munson, & Laurence Ward, viewed the Meeting-house " by desire of ye Majestrate," & reported how they found it & what was deemed needful. Voted that the Townsmen see it done. (T. M. was one.)

1663. Court, Jan. 6th.Estate of Richard Hull apprised by Thomas Munson & Roger Ailing.

Court, March 3d.Thomas Munson and John Cooper had apprised estate of Wm. Judson.

G. C., April 27th.Thomas Munson elected first of the

Townsman. . -,

six 1 ownsmen.

G. C., May 18th.Deputies for Jurisdiction court : agreed to

choose them for the whole year. John Nash & James Bishop

chosen "Deputies for y' jurisdiction, & Thomas Munson

"P" *' the third man, if need require."

" Mr John Davenport, junior, Leftenn' John Nash, ensigne

Thomas Munson. & James Bishop, was chosen Particular Court. ...... A , .

deputies for yc towne Courte for ye yeare ensuing.

" Ensigne Thomas Munson declared unto ye towne that when he was chosen ensigne, he objected against it as not being able to doe y" worke, but did take it upon triall ; & hauing tried, he finds himselfe not able to doe it (especially in windy weather), neither to the honor of y' Company nor for his own credit ; therefore desired they would thinke of some other." . . Left to further consideration.

General Court for the Jurisdiction, May 27th.Present : Governor, Dep. Gov., four magistrates, and nine deputies ; the deputies for New Haven were Thomas Munson and James Bishop, showing that Munson acted as substitute for Lieut. Nash. This was his first service as a member of the Colony legislature.

Court, Sept. ist.Ensign Thomas Munson & Christopher Todd apprisers of the estate of Hill.

" Then the court came to consider how to dispose of Ebenezer Hill which was with ensigne munson ; & haveing speech with

ensigne munson about him, though he aprehended himself at liberty from any ingagem' to Rob1 Hill his father about him, yet upon desire of the Court he did ingage to keepe him untill the first of May 1666, & provide for him mate, drinke & appareil,the Court alloweing (to y' which he had already received of Rob' Hill) out of y' estate, as much white cotten to make him a sute, alsoe a payre of shoes, & two pounds ten shillings, w'h the use of his portion untill the michaellmas next after the time beforementioned is expired."

Court, Dec. ist.Joseph and Eleazer, sons of Henry Peck, chose Ensigne Munson guardian for theyr estate. He was approved by court, and accepted but would run no venture in respect to the cattle.

1664. Court, Feb. and.Ensigne Thomas Munson & Thomas Kimberly, senior, apprisers of the estate of Hodgkis.

Court, Aprill 5th. " Ensigne Tho: Munson doth Alienate for ever to Robert ffoote, his house, homelott, & all buildings & fences

thereupon, lieing next Christopher Todd ; with two Salt of Home. , ! ., ., . T , .-,

acres & a hlfe in the quarter against John Coopers,

lieing betwixt Mr Gilbert & Wm Bradley ; alsoe six acres wanting some few rods, lieing in the milquarter, between Tho: Kemberly senior & Tho: Morris,with a piece of meadow lieing at the end of it, the breadth of the Land, to the quantity of three acres." This place of residence, S. E. corner Church and Elm, he had owned eight years. (He had bought the Robert Newman place in 1662 ; there he spent the last twenty-three years of his life.)

G. C., April 28th." Mr Gilbert againe renewed his motion about exchange of Mr Tenches 2d devision lieing on the west side, for soe much above the shepherds pen lieing neare y" Mill River . . & sd he had got ensigne Munson to view it ; who declared that he saw noe inconveniency it would be to ye towne soe to doe ; & soe by vote it was granted him."

G. C., May 9th. " Ensigne Thomas Munson & John Moss

ерTMУ- were chosen deputies for the jurisdiction Gen"? courte for

the yeare ensueinge. Mr. John Davenport, junior, L: John Nash,

EnsQ Thomas Munson, & James Bishop, were chosen

Part'. Court. _ . , . J ' ,

Deputies for the towne court for ye yeare ensuinge. " Lieutenant Nash informed the court That the military company was much unsatisfyed to day that they had not the coulors, & y' some sd they would not trayne if they had not the coulors. Ensigne munson answered, That he finds, upon tryall, y' he is not able to doe it, & therefore spoke to the towne the Last yeare that they would provide another. But he was told that he should not have deserted ye company till another had been chosen.

" Ensigne Munson was chosen Lieutenant for the company." (All the sergeants were unwilling to take the position

Lieutenant. - . .

of ensign.)

G. C. for the Jurisdiction, May 25th.Deputies for New Haven plantation (or town), Li Tho: Munson and Jn" Mosse.

Q^ ^ jor ^e j^ ^Ug_ nth.Thomas Munson and John Mosse present as deputies. The great controversy with Connecticut Colony in regard to an absorption of New Haven

As to Union. .-, , , , , . /^ ..

Colony, under the king s recent patent to Connecticut, ("publiquely read" at Hartford, Oct. 9, 1662,)* was not yet ended. This extra session of the New Haven Colony legislature, was in view of news from Massachusetts that "the king's cornissionr' were come over," and in view of the tender and anxious counsel of friends in the Bay Colony, urging an amicable union of New Haven with Connecticut, lest mischief come upon all the New England colonies. To messengers from Connecticut, the magistrates had signified " That if Cofiecticutt would come & assert their clairne to us in ye king's authority," and engage to secure to New Haven the privileges which had been offered, they would "call ye gen" court together that they may consider of it." The court being now assembled, the Governor desired the members to consider what answer should be given, if agents from Connecticut should come. The problem was a bitter one. " Much debate there was upon it." Vote : " If they of Conecticutt come & make a clayme upon us in his majesties name & by vertue of their charter, then wee shall submitt to ym, untill the comissioners of ye colonies doe meete." At the meeting of the Commissioners in September, Connecticut said : " We doe hereby declare that we shall haue a tender respect to or honoured freinds and bretheren of New Haven." And the Commissioners heartily and affectionately commended such a compliance between them that the sad consequences which would inevitably follow upon their further contentions, might be prevented.

G. C. for the J., Sept. I4th. The proceedings at the meeting of the Commissioners, laid before the body. The Governor deemed it a season to advise together " in what state is best for us to appeare when the comissioners from England come to visitt us." " There was much debate, and divers spake that to stand as God hath kept us hithertoo, is our best way."

* Dated April 23, 1662. The General Assembly at Hartford May 14, 1663, " Voted, That they would not send the Patent nor a coppy thereof to be read at New Haven."

t Names of members participating, not recorded. Thomas Munson had been elected deputy for New Haven.

Oct. i3th, the General Assembly of Conn, appointed Samuel Shearman and Secretary Allyn to go to New Haven, &c., and in his Majesty's name require all the inhabitants of New Haven, Milford, Branford, Guilford and Stamford, to submit to the government established in Connecticut by his Majesty's gracious grant.

Nov. icth, Shearman and Allen appeared before a meeting of the town in New Haven, presented their business, and " urged to have the matter put to vote." The conclusion of the meeting, "onely one dissenting," is not on record.

" Att a Gen11 Court held at New Haven for the Jurisdiccon, December 13'", 1664,* together with the Freemen of N. Haven, Guilford, Branford, & part of Milford, & as many of y" Inhabitants as was pleased to come.""Promise of further answer" had been made to the " Conecticutt gent" " who made the demand for submission to the government existing by regal authority ; and "after some debate," an answer was now "concluded with universall consent:" "If it shall appeare to our cornittee that we are by his majtles authority now put under Cofiecticutt Pattentt, we shall submitt . . . but with a salvo jure." Moreover, they must not be understood by this vote " to justify Conecticutts former actings." "The comittee appointed was ye p'sent members of this gen" court" (Lieut. Munson was doubtless one), and several others. They write the Connecticut officials Jan. 5th : " Haveing seene ye coppye of his majuee comission" determination wee doe declare submission thereunto." Signed " Yor very loveing friends & neighboTM, the Comittee appointed by y" freemen & inhabitants of N. Haven Colony."

1665. After the union of New Haven Colony with Connecticut Colony. (John Winthrop is Governor.)

G. C., March loth.Notice received from Conn, that there is to

be a GenH Assembly the i5th of this month ; invited to send

deputies. " After much debate, it was thought best to

' send." Capt" John Nash was chosen, but as he declared

his inability to go, Ll Thomas Munson was chosen " to supply in

his roome ;" John Cooper was elected second deputy.

G. C., April 18.That meeting was " put by." Summons for another, " 20th of this moneth." Most were for sending. " The former deputies declareing themselves not willing to goe," the next day John Cooper & James Bishop were chosen.

General Assembly (at Hartford), July 6th." This Court doth confirme these as officers to ye Traine Band at N: Hauen, as follow : John Nash Cap', Thomas Munson," etc.

* Names of members participating, not recorded. Thomas Munson had been elected deputy for New Haven.

G. C, Aug. 14th." The Townesmen were appointed to speake to Ll Tho: Munson, Wra Andrewes, & Thomas Morris, to view what is necessary to be done to the meeting house, both floore & roofe, & make report to the towne."

" At a Court held at New Haven, Octob: 3? 1665. The juryL'

Tho: Munson, Mr Henry Rotherford, John Gibbs, John Cooper,

senior, \Vm Andrewes, Henry Glover. L? Tho: Mun

trs jury. gQn apointed foremen of the jury." This was the first

trial by jury at New Haven.

G. C, Oct. 9th.Deputies for Gen. Assembly at H., "12 this

month :" W" Andrews & John Cooper appeared to be chosen ;

there not being satisfaction, the freemen met again at

evening & chose John Cooper & James Bishop, " & Ll

Tho: Munson y* 3d man."

1666. Court, Jan. 2nd.Jury : Ll Tho: Munson, Jn: Cooper, senior, Jn": Herriman, Jn. Mosse, Roger Ailing, Nath: Merriman. This was the third jury-court at New Haven.

G. C, Jan. 15th." It was propounded for some to goe about, to see w' men would give to the lords Treasury :" Tho: Munson & Jn Cooper for two quarters, 8 others for "ye farmers on y' side," 2 for " y* east side," 1 for "ye farmes on ye west side & at ye Playnes."

Court, Feb. 6th.Jury : L' Tho: Munson, Jn: Cooper, senior, Roger Ailing, Joseph Alsup, Tho: Trowbridge, Abra: Dowlitle. (Fourth jury-court.)

Next Jury-Court, March 6th.Jury : John Cooper, senior, Ll Tho: Munson, Rotherford, T. Trowbridge, Alsop, A. Dowlitle.

Court, March 6th." Thomas Munson doth Alienate to Thomas Jn son the 5th p' of y* 2d division of Mr Hickocks Lott, lieing on ye west side, being about 8 acres & a halfe, and lieing next to Henry Line his farme." (Another ^th was alienated by Henry Glover, same time.)

G. C, April 30th. " Ll Thomas Munson & James Bishop chosen deputies for the Gen1? Assembly to be held at Hartford

Deputy. the ioth of May next& Capt jno Nash the 3d man_"

" L' ThoT Munsson & W"1 Andrewes voted to be nominated for

commissioners, to be added to ye rest (if need be), Mr Gilbert being

gone to Delaware." The county courts were held the

Commissioner. , ,, , . T , , _, , . XT

2nd Thursday in June, and 3d Ihursday in Nov.: " wch Courts shal consist of not less than two Assistants wth two or more Com", to ye number of five judges at least, for ye triall of all cases excepting life, limb and banishment." Mr. Gilbert returned in time for the court held June nth.

Court of Election (Legislature) held at Hartford May 10. " Mr. Munson " recorded as deputy.

G. C., May 8th. Shearman came " to tender ye freemmens oath to our present freemen " and others. Only nine took the oath !

Court, Dec. 4th. Jury : Wm Andrewes, Ll Tho : Munson, &c. (Seventh jury-court.)

1667. (Aged 55.) Towne Meeting, Aprill 29th."Thomas Munson & Thomas Kemberlye, senior, for mr Lings Quarter ;" etc.

1668. Town Meeting, Jan. ith." Ll Thomas Munson acknowledged the love of the Towne in his being in the military office soe many years ; but he desired now that the towne would free him from y* place of a Lievetenant here, findeing not himselfe free to continue in it ; but nothing was done in it at this time."

T. M., Feb. yth.Wm Andrews, L' Thomas Munson, and Thomas Morris, are to "view the meeting house," and with others to report " what is meete to be done about it."

Seating of Meeting-house reported: In the ist seat "in the

Gallery " are 13 persons, including John Cooper, senior, Tho :

Trowbridge, and L' Tho : Munson. In the 2nd do. are

ng' 14, including Moses Mansfield, Sam11" Munson, Tho.

Yale and Jn Cooper. " There being noe gallery for women, they

was not new seated."

T. M., ffeb. 12th. " Mr Jones acquainted the towne, that y* Comittee appointed . . about y" meeting house, . . . doe apprehend it capable to be repayred. Wm. Andrewes explained " how it should be done," and estimated the cost of repairs and " makeing two more galleryes " at ,200. " Soe after some debate," the former committee was requested "to agree w*h y* workmen about it."

" But after sometime of debate about other things, Mr John Davenport, junior, comeing in from ye schoolehouse, informed ye towne y1 he understood from L1 Munson, that for fifty pounds more then the repaireing of this old meetinghouse would Cost, he would build a new house ;" after " some debate, yc Towne came to another vote, whereby they referred unto y' sd Comittee to take into consideration about building a new meeting house, & to agree with any y* shall appeare to doe it, as the Comittee shall see cause."

Court, April 7th.L' Thomas Munson at the head of the jury. (Eighth jury-court.)

T. M., April 29th.L' Thomas Munson elected one

Townsman. , ,

of seven lownsmen.

Court, July i7th.Appointed L1 Thomas Munson . . to consider the rent & repair of a house belonging to the Watson estate.

A First-Church record, without date, may be entered here: " Jn Ailing his case was spoken of. And y* Brethren said they thought it might doe well if ye Deacon, and Brother Munson, and Bro: Glouer, would speak with him, and see how hee is now prepared."

1684. "At a Meting of Towns men March 5th 1683:" "The Townsmen desireded Cpt Munson and [Serg1 Dickerman] to mack and sett up a sing post, according to la [w], som where in the Market place nere the Meting House, and doe it with spead."

 

Meeting of freemen, Sept. 29th.Captaine Moses Mansfeild and Leautenant Abraham Dickerman were chosen deputies, "& Cap1 Thomas Munson the third man."

* In February, 1887, the following petition was presented to the Society's Committee of the First Church of Christ in New Haven :

"Captain Thomas Munson assisted in the spiritual beginnings of the First Church in New Haven, and remained in its fellowship and active service forty-five years; he was one of the builders who contracted to erect its first meeting-house, and was often employed by the General Court to inspect and report upon its condition; his descendants in all generations have been connected with the institution,the imperfect records mentioning the membership of over forty bearing the Munson name, and the baptism of over one hundred bearing the Munson name, implying probably the connection by these sacraments of more persons bearing the blood of Thomas Munson than there are members of the Church at present.

4t Now, therefore, we, a Committee of Thomas Munson's descendants, appointed to arrange for a Reunion of the race, do respectfully petition the Society's Committee of the First Church of Christ in New Haven, for permission to occupy the House of Worship of said Society for about two hours, on Wednesday, the seventeenth day of August next, during the delivery of an Historical Address, and a few associated exercises."

1683. Capt. Munson, an able, useful and eminent citizen, departed this life May 7th, and was buried on The Green ; his monument, a slab of sandstone, may now be seen in the Grove Street Burial-ground, at No. 9, Linden Ave.

I quote below the records pertaining to his estate :

" Captn Munson

" An Inventory of the estate of Thomas' Munson, late ry. ^ Newhaven deceased. " Imp? Halfe a house, that is: 3 : roomes, a barne, ^ .

Land & meadow, & Corne upon yc ground 189 : 10 : 00

"In Cattle 14. 14. / In bedsteads, & bedding & curtaines 032 : 07 : 04

lb s lb s

" In weareing clothes & hatt. 9. 14. In Linnen 6. 11. In armes & afftunition 2* 9f

"In Tooles 10* 8? In Seales and weights. ift In brasse, iron & pewter 12* 19? 4"?

"A cubbard, Tables, chayrs & formes 21!" 10? In earthen ware & wooden ware. 2* 16?

"A chest & trunke & boxes i1^ 3? 6')

 

 

"A plow & horse geers 10? In other small things 1 19s

s d

The estateCr. 04 : 18 : 00
The estate Dr 32 : 07 : 06

"This above written Inventory : / Moses Mansfield was taken by us the 21" 3d m 85/ t John Winston

"June ia* 1685J " An agreement about the distribution of the estate, our father Left us : made by us whose names are underwritten,Vid : To his grandson Thomas' Munson, his tools, his armes & aifiunition, the bed and bedstead & bedding that is in the chamber, his clothes, excepting the 3 great coats that he disposed of to his 3 sons, 6 acres of land in the quarter cofnonly called the Governo" quarter, & yl parcell of meadow lyeing att the red banke, & the effects of a calfe, which is now sheep, & the Colt.

"Alsoe To his son Sam8" Munson, the house & homelott, & all the rest of the land & meadow, & mare, excepting 2 acres in y" neck given to Richard Higginbothom./

"Alsoe the improvem1 of the 6 acres of land & of halfe yc meadow given to Thomas', until he cometh of age to receive it, provided he pay the debts that are due from the estate, & alsoe allow Joseph Tuttell the part of the orchard as they have agreed, for his use & benefitt for 7 years, from the last of March before the date hereof, & then the orchard to return to ya possession of Sam Munson oure brother; alsoe Joseph Tuttell to have the improvem' of halfe of the meadow, given to Thomas', until he comes of age to receive it, and then it is to be returned to him./

"Alsoe the 3 cowes to be divided to each of us one.~~

" Alsoe, the bed & bedstead that stands below, with all ye furniture thereto belonging, to be unto sister2 Tuttell, & all the rest of ye moveables, to be divided equally between Elisabeth' Higinbothom & Hafiah5 Tuttell, excepting the great brasse Kettle given to Samuell", & a pewter bason & spoone given to Thomass./~

"This agreem' exhibited in Court Sam Munson

& approved for ye settlem1 of yc sd estate Richard Higinbothom

As attests James Bishop der: Joseph Tuttle"

CONTEMPORARY EVENTS.When Thomas' Munson was 4 years old, Shakspere died ; -when 5 yrs. of age, Lord Bacon became chancellor of England; at 6, Sir Walter Raleigh beheaded,Thirty Years War i between Romish and Protestant princes of Germany) began ; at 7, circulation of the blood discovered by Harvey ; at 8, the Pilgrims landed from the Mayflower upon Plymouth Rock ; at n, the settlement of Manhattan Island, now the City of New-York, was begun; at 13, Charles I. became king of England ; at 18, the settlement of Boston was commenced ; at 20, Gustavus Adolphus of Sweden defeated Wallenstein and was killed at Liitzen ; at 23, Hartford began existence ; at 25, the Pequot War occurred ; at 26, the settlers of New-Haven spent their first Sabbath, Apr. 15, worshipping under an oak which stood at the northeast corner of George and College streets, and Harvard College was founded ; at 27, the New-Haven Colony adopted a constitution, which T. M. signed ; at 28, the Flemish painter Rubens died ; at 30, the Italian philosopher Galileo died ; at 31, Louis XIV. succeeded his father as king of France ; at 34, the Apostle Eliot began his labors among the Indians; at 37, Charles I. beheaded; at 41, Cromwell became Lord Protector of England ; at 45, the Half-way Covenant appeared in New-England churches ; at 48, Charles II. crowned ; at 49, Whalley and Goffe arrived in New-Haven ; at 50, New-Haven Colony refused to be united by royal charter with Connecticut Colony; at 53, N. H. C. was united with C. C. (in May) ; at 55, Sir Isaac Newton conceived the theory of gravitation, and Jeremy Taylor died ; at 63, King Philip's War broke out ; at 64, Milton and the Dutch painter Rembrandt died ; at 73, the Spanish painter Murillo died, and James II. was crowned.

AUTOGRAPHIC SIGNATURES TO FOUNDAMENTALL AGREEMT
AT NEW HAVEN, JUNE 4, 1639.